Andrew’s Hockey Hate List

I hate 95% of things in the world.  I don’t do it intentionally.  It just seems like every day I get asked if I like something like The Lumineers (the sucky band du jour) or Big Bang Theory/Two Broke Girls (the easiest way to set me off on a rage-y rampage).  In college my roommates came up with a rule that for every time I said I hated something I had to name two things that I like.  That rule lasted about 15 minutes.

Today some people on Twitter got to talkin about how many NHL teams they root for, thanks to the talk about another team possibly going to Toronto. Like most things, I hate a vast majority of NHL teams.  I really only like the Blackhawks (and for years I hated that I liked them so much) and then hate the other 29 teams with varying passions.  A few days ago a conversation I had sparked me to rank the order in which I hate every team in the NHL.  It took about 10 minutes to do.

So I present to you my Hockey Hate List.  I reserve the right to adjust this list at will based on moods, events, and pure fucking whims.  My guideline was if two teams played each other in a game I had no money or Blackhawks interest in, who would I prefer to see lose? The higher up on the list, the more I hate you.

Special Note: Some teams I hate pretty equally. For example, I had a really hard time figuring out how to choose between Detroit, Phoenix, and Vancouver.  A couple of these vary on a day to day basis.

Enjoy!

  1. St. Louis Blues
  2. Winnipeg Jets
  3. Detroit Red Wings
  4. Phoenix Coyotes
  5. Vancouver Canucks
  6. Nashville Predators
  7. Columbus Blue Jackets
  8. Buffalo Sabres
  9. Minnesota Wild
  10. Philadelphia Flyers
  11. Ottawa Senators
  12. Dallas Stars
  13. Calgary Flames
  14. Colorado Avalanche
  15. Carolina Hurricanes
  16. San Jose Sharks
  17. Pittsburgh Penguins
  18. Florida Panthers
  19. New York Islanders
  20. Montreal Canadiens
  21. Toronto Maple Leafs
  22. Washington Capitals
  23. New Jersey Devils
  24. Edmonton Oilers
  25. Anaheim Ducks
  26. New York Rangers
  27. Los Angeles Kings
  28. Boston Bruins
  29. Tampa Bay Lightning
  30. Chicago Blackhawks

Feel free to comment why I’m such a jerk and got this list so wrong. I look forward to hating you too.

3 thoughts on “Andrew’s Hockey Hate List

    • You can probably chalk this one up to “east coast bias” in that I don’t watch enough of them so I don’t find them as detestable as I would if I were more familiar with them.

  1. Pingback: Kelly’s Hockey Hate List | Dry Island Castaways

Leave a Reply

